James Kelly Named EERI Distinguished Lecturer for 2001, and Member Academy of Mechanics

The Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) has named James M. Kelly, professor of civil engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, EERI’s Distinguished Lecturer for 2001. He was honored for his contributions to the development of base isolation technologies for the design of seismic isolated structures. Professor Kelly has been the leading proponent in the U.S. of using mutilayer elastomeric bearings for the seismic protection of buildings, and through the United Nations Industrial Development Organization, he has been instrumental in developing low-cost seismic isolation systems for he protection of housing and other structures.

He was recently elected a member of the Academy of Mechanics.

EERI Honors Bruce Bolt with George W. Housner Award

Bruce A. Bolt, professor emeritus of seismology at the University of California, Berkeley, was awarded the Housner Medal by the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI). The award is the most prestigious of the institute and is granted to one individual in each calendar year. The presentation was made at the EERI Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, June 2, 2000. The award was for lasting contributions to earthquake loss reduction through his distinguished career as a scholar, writer, mentor, and tireless advocate, and for his enduring contributions to the institute.










PEER Student Awardees

PEER would like to acknowledge the outstanding accomplishments of the following students:

* Tara Hutchinson, SLC representative from University of California, Davis, recipient of the NEHRP Graduate Fellow in Earthquake Hazard Reduction awarded by EERI
* Andrew Liu, University of California, Los Angeles, recipient of the ASCE LA Geotechnical Group Scholarship for 20002001
* Gabe Gaytan, University of California, Irvine, recipient of the Gates Millenium Scholarship