4 PEER Colleagues Elected to National Academy of Engineering

February 14, 2022

Four PEER colleagues were recently honored with election to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), which is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Election to the NAE honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Youssef HashashYoussef M.A. Hashash, William J. and Elaine F. Hall Endowed Professor and John Burkitt Webb Endowed Faculty Scholar, Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. For contributions to geotechnical engineering, seismic safety, and the evaluation, design, and construction of underground infrastructure. Youssef has been an integral researcher in the PEER NGA-West 2 and NGA-East projects.

John HooperJohn D. Hooper, Director, Earthquake Engineering, Magnusson Klemencic Associates, Seattle, Washington. For advancement of building code seismic design provisions and earthquake-resistant structural design of major buildings around the world. From 2001-2011, John was Magnusson Klemencic Associates’ Business and Industry Partnership representative as PEER transitioned and graduated from NSF funding. In the first edition of the Tall Buildings Initiative, John was in the "Baseline Assessment of Dynamic Response Characteristics of Tall Buildings" task group. He was also in the working group of the second edition of the TBI Seismic Design Guidelines released in 2017. John was also a member of the Project Review Committee for the PEER-CEA Project “Quantifying the Performance of Retrofit of Cripple Walls and Sill Anchorage in Single-Family Wood-Frame Buildings.”

Farzad NaeimFarzad Naeim, Founder and President, Farzad Naeim Inc., Irvine, and Adjunct Professor at University of California, Irvine. For advancing performance-based seismic design of tall buildings and other structures with instrumentation, isolation, and energy dissipation devices. In the Tall Buildings Initiative, Farzad was a key contributor in developing guidance for ground motion selection. He was in the working groups for both editions of the TBI Seismic Design Guidelines, most recently released in 2017.

Maryann PhippsMaryann T. Phipps, President, Estructure, Oakland, California. For leadership in structural engineering and contributions to assessment, mitigation, and design of building components for seismic effects. Maryann partnered with PEER and conducted testing of non-structural components at the PEER lab located in Richmond, California.

A list of the NAE new members and international members can be found here.