PEER Colleagues Elected to National Academy of Engineering

February 7, 2020

Five PEER colleagues were recently honored with election to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), which is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.

Steve Kramer, professor, civil and environmental engineering, University of Washington, Seattle.  For contributions to geotechnical earthquake engineering, including liquefaction, seismic stability, and seismic site response.  Steve is a PEER researcher and co-director of the PEER-NGL Lifelines project.

Paulo Monteiro, J.M., Roy W. Carlson Distinguished Professor, civil and environmental engineering, University of California, Berkeley.  For contributions to the science and nanotechnology of concrete for sustainable construction and durable structures. Paulo is a PEER colleague.

Ronald Klemencic, chairman and chief executive officer, Magnusson Klemencic Associates (MKA), Seattle.  For innovation in the design of high-rise buildings worldwide, and for research and design guidelines to advance structural engineering practices. Ron is a PEER colleague and recently made a presentation at the 2020 PEER Annual Meeting..

Per F. Peterson, William S. Floyd and Jean McCallum Floyd Chair in Engineering, nuclear engineering, University of California, Berkeley.  For experimental and analytical research contributions for the design and development of passive safety systems for advanced nuclear reactors.  Per is a PEER colleague and has participated in the UC Pacific Rim Forum, hosted by PEER.

Reginald DesRoches, William and Stephanie Sick Dean of Engineering, George R. Brown School of Engineering, Rice University, Houston. For research and design of resilient infrastructure systems to mitigate damage from natural disasters and other extreme conditions. Reginald is a member of the UC Berkeley Civil Engineering Distinguished Alumni  and incoming Provost at Rice University.