3 PEER Colleagues Elected to National Academy of Engineering

February 10, 2021

Three PEER colleagues were recently honored with election to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), which is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Election to the NAE honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Kiremidjian Stanford PEER Institutional Board ChairAnne S. Kiremidjian, C. L. Peck, Class of 1906 Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, California. For research and dissemination of probabilistic seismic hazard methods and mentoring. Anne is a member of the PEER Institutional Board and is immediate past-Chair.

James O. Malley, group director and senior principal, Structural Engineering, Degenkolb Engineers, San Francisco. For leadership in improving seismic design. Jim is an active member of PEER. In the Tall Buildings Initiative, Jim led the working group that developed guidance for nonlinear modeling of tall buildings and acceptance values. He was in the working group for both editions of the TBI Seismic Design Guidelines, most recently released in 2017. Degenkolb Engineers is a member of the PEER Business and Industry Partnership Program, and Jim is Chair of the PEER Industry Advisory Board.

Mark Peter Sarkisian, partner, Structural and Seismic Engineering, Skidmore Owings and Merrill LLP, San Francisco. For innovation in efficient and aesthetic design of tall buildings and structures. Skidmore Owings and Merrill is a member of the PEER Business and Industry Partnership Program.